Crestview Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman Defense Lawyer
You are facing a mandatory prison sentence and felony conviction if you are convicted of Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman. If you’re reading this page, you are looking for help, and for answers. You’re probably wondering if there is a way to get out of this without these devastating consequences.
You have some decisions to make, and a lot to think about. Here are four factors that could make a big difference in the outcome of your case:
- Should you hire the very best Crestview criminal defense lawyer you can find, or should you hope for the best with a public defender?
- Will your attorney reach out to the alleged victim and see if they are willing to take the necessary steps to have the no contact order lifted?
- Will the alleged victim cooperate with your attorney in trying to get the charges dropped?
- Should you talk to the police without an attorney present?
My name is Tim Flaherty. I’ve been a Crestview battery defense attorney since 2001. Brandy Merrifield is my partner. Our team has extensive experience defending locals and military members accused of Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman. Call us at (850) 398-8098. The call is free, and it’s an important first step towards getting you the help you need.
Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman in Crestview under Florida Law
The charge is called Aggravated Battery because alleged victim was pregnant at the time of the offense, not because the injuries were more serious, or because a weapon was used. Even a minor shove, grab, or push against a pregnant woman can be enough to justify the Aggravated Battery element of the charge.
The State of Florida will be required to prove these elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
- The defendant intentionally touched or struck the alleged victim against her will and intentionally caused bodily harm to the alleged victim.
- The alleged victim was pregnant at the time.
- The defendant knew or should have known that the alleged victim was pregnant.
What is the penalty for Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman?
This form of Aggravated Battery is a second degree felony with a maximum sentence of 15 years in prison. Under the Florida Punishment Code, the charge “scores out” to a minimum sentence of 21 months in prison if you are convicted. Using the same Punishment Code, the prosecutor can also add points to your score for injuries to the alleged victim. There are three levels of victim injury: Slight, Moderate, and Severe. Each one adds more points to the score and raises the minimum sentence in prison that you face.
Call a Crestview attorney if you’re charged with Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman
Most people in your situation are scared and unsure of what to do after being charged with such a serious offense. It makes it even worse when the alleged victim is someone you love or care about. Just remember one thing: This isn’t over. Your fate isn’t set in stone. You still have a chance to affect the outcome, and get your family back.
When you’re ready to reach out for some help, we welcome your call.
If you have been charged with Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman in Crestview, call Flaherty Defense Firm at (850) 398-8098 for a free confidential consultation.