If you were convicted of a DUI in Okaloosa County, or anywhere in Florida, your driving privileges were most likely suspended for a minimum of six months. You might even have a lifetime revocation of your license.
If you are caught driving while serving a DUI suspension, you will be charged with Driving While License Suspended or Revoked (DWLSR), in violation of Florida Statute 322.34.
Here is an overview of the penalties according to the statute:
- First Offense: second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine
- Second Offense: first-degree misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a $1000 fine
- Third Offense: third-degree felony with a potential five-year prison sentence and a $5000 fine. The judges in Okaloosa County routinely hand down one-year jail sentences for this charge.
Are DUI suspensions treated any differently in Okaloosa County?
Yes they are. In most other DWLSR cases, you would not face a jail sentence for a first or second offense. However, if you are caught driving on a DUI suspension in Okaloosa County, you will likely face a minimum of ten days in jail for a first offense, and far longer for a second or subsequent offense.
Call an Okaloosa County Criminal Defense Lawyer
I have been practicing criminal defense in Okaloosa County since 2001. I have the knowledge, expertise, and experience to secure the best possible results for my clients. My #1 priority, if you were caught driving on a DUI suspension, will be to keep you out of jail.
Call Flaherty & Merrifield at (850) 243-6097 and I’d be glad to discuss your case with you and explain exactly how I would defend you. The consultation is free, so call us today.