Disclaimer: If you are planning to work for the police as a confidential informant, call someone else. We do not represent snitches.

You don't need a sales pitch, and you don't need empty promises. If you have a drug charge in Fort Walton Beach, you already know you're in trouble. What you need is someone to give it to you straight. Someone who will give you the help you need, when you need it the most.

My name is Tim Flaherty. Since 2001, I have been defending clients accused of drug crimes throughout Okaloosa County. My partner's name is Brandy Merrifield. At Flaherty & Merrifield, our Fort Walton Beach drug charge defense attorneys know that a drug conviction can have life-altering effects. Contact us today and let us get to work for you.

Common Drug Charges in Fort Walton Beach

All drug charges, other than possession of marijuana under 20 grams, are felonies. The penalties and fines vary depending on the type and amount of the drug.

Drug cases are unique from other felonies. The state does not care if the possession is for personal use. If you are charged, you will face the same punishment as a serious drug dealer. The most common drug-related charges we defend are listed below.

Marijuana Possession in Florida

Some states have decriminalized marijuana, and some have legalized it all together. Here in Florida, the possession and use of cannabis remains illegal without a medical-use exemption and prescription. Possession of marijuana can be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the amount that was possessed. Less than 20 grams of smokable cannabis is a misdemeanor. Twenty grams or more of smokable cannabis, or ANY amount of THC oil, is a felony offense.

Drug Paraphernalia/Narcotics Equipment

Under Florida Statute 893.147, any item that is used, intended to be used, or designed to be used as a drug delivery device can potentially be considered drug paraphernalia. Possession or use of these items carries penalties of up to a year in jail or on probation as well as a $1,000 fine.

Possession of a Controlled Substance in Florida

Controlled substances are categorized in schedules related to the potential for abuse, along with whether the controlled substance serves any legitimate medical purpose. Under Florida law, it is illegal to possess any controlled substance without a valid prescription. Other than less than 20 grams of marijuana, all Possession of Controlled Substance cases are felony offenses. Common examples include heroin, cocaine, methamphetamine, Xanax, and Hydrocodone.

Drug Trafficking

Depending on the drug and the amount, you could face between five and 30 years in prison if convicted of drug trafficking charges. Even if no prison time is imposed, there is the possibility of a permanent felony conviction on your record, the loss of your driver's license, and ineligibility for federal student loans and grants. With so much at stake, don't leave your future to chance.

Defending a Drug Charge in Ft. Walton Beach

Clients often ask, "How can you defend me? I had the drugs on me." To be clear, just because you were found with drugs in your possession, or in your home or car, does not mean you are guilty of drug possession. We have been defending drug cases for a long time. Over the years, we have learned that every case is different, and no case is hopeless. We will develop a customized defense strategy that will include the following:

  • Thorough review of the state's evidence against you
  • Review for potential motion issues such as Motion to Dismiss or Motion to Suppress
  • Interview or depose witnesses and law enforcement
  • View all video, audio, and visual evidence
  • Negotiate with the prosecutor for a favorable result. In some situations, it is possible to negotiate for a program called Pretrial Diversion, which results in a full dismissal of all charges if completed.

Motions to Suppress Evidence

The 4th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution protects citizens from unlawful search and seizure. This means that the police must follow proper procedure when they detain or search someone. Once we examine the facts of your case, we will research the applicable case law to see if there is a valid basis to challenge the admissibility of the evidence that was seized in your case. If we can make a viable argument that the police violated your constitutional rights, we will file a Motion to Suppress Evidence.

The judge will schedule a hearing in court to argue the motion. Once the judge has heard both sides, they will make a ruling. If the judge grants the Motion to Suppress, that means the state cannot use the evidence against you. If that happens, the case will most likely be dismissed.

Under Florida Rule of Criminal Procedure 3.190, here are some of the reasons that a judge may decide to suppress evidence:

  • The property was seized without a search warrant
  • There was no probable cause to justify the issuance of the search warrant
  • The police acted illegally when they served or executed the search warrant

Motions to Dismiss Evidence

A Motion to Dismiss pursuant to Florida Rule of Criminal Procedure 3.190 (c)(4) is commonly filed in constructive possession cases. Constructive possession becomes an issue when drugs or contraband are found in an area that multiple people had access to. A common example would be a traffic stop with several people in the car.

In constructive possession cases, it is not enough for the state to allege that you were in an area where contraband was found. They must also prove that you exercised "dominion and control" over the items and that you knew of their presence.

Once we review the facts of your case, we will examine whether it makes sense to file a C-4 Motion to Dismiss. A C-4 motion means that there are no disputed facts in the case, and those facts do not give rise to sufficient evidence to sustain a criminal charge.

Other Options for Resolving a Fort Walton Beach Drug Case

One common way to resolve a first offense drug charge is through referral to a diversion program, which guarantees a full dismissal of your charges as long as you complete certain conditions. In misdemeanor cases, these programs are called Pretrial Diversion or Deferred Prosecution, whereas in felony cases, they're referred to as Pretrial Intervention. Either way, if the agreement is successfully completed, it will be guaranteed, in writing, that your case will be dismissed.

Charge Statute Misdemeanor/Felony Degree Maximum Penalty
Marijuana Possession of Less than 20 grams 893.13(6)(a) Misdemeanor 1st 1 year jail, $1,000 fine and 6 month driver’s license suspension
Possession of Narcotic Equipment 893.147(1) Misdemeanor 1st 1 year jail and $1,000 fine
Marijuana Possession of More than 20 grams 893.13 (1)(c) Felony 3rd 5 years prison, $5,000 fine and 6 month driver’s license suspension
Possession of a Controlled Substance (other than cannabis) 893.13(6)(a) Felony 3rd 5 years prison and $5,000 fine
Obtain Controlled Substance by Fraud 893.13(7)(a)(9) Felony 3rd 5 years prison and $5,000 fine
Sale, Manufacture or Distribution of Cannabis 893.13(1)(a)(2) Felony 3rd 5 years prison and $5,000 fine
Sale, Manufacture or Distribution of Cannabis within 1000ft of a Child Care or School 893.13(1)(c)(2) Felony 2nd 15 years prison and $10,000 fine
Deliver Cannabis to a Minor 893.13(4)(b) Felony 2nd 15 years prison and $10,000 fine
Purchase, Sell, Distribute Cocaine/Meth 893.13(4)(b) Felony 2nd 15 years prison and $10,000 fine
Sale, Manufacture or Distribution of Cocaine/Meth within 1000ft of a University, Child Care or School 893.13(1)(d)(l) 893.13(1)(C)(1) Felony 1st Minimum 3 years DOC /
Maximum 30 years prison
Trafficking Cannabis 25-200 lbs (3 years DOC) 893.13(1)(a)( l ) Felony 1st Minimum 3 years DOC /
Maximum 30 years prison
Trafficking Cocaine 893.13(1)(b)(l) Felony 1st 28-200 grams minimum 3 years DOC 200-400 grams minimum 7 years DOC 400 grams-150 Kg minimum 15 years DOC Maximum for all charges 30 years prison
Trafficking Meth 893.135(1)(f) Felony 1st Minimum Penalty: 3 years DOC
Maximum for all charges: 30 years to Life in prison and $250,000 fine.
Trafficking Opiates/Hydrocodone 893.135(1)(c)(2)(a) Felony 1st Minimum Penalty: 3 years DOC. All charges maximum penalty 30 years to Life in prison.
Trafficking MDMA 893.135(1)(k)(2)(a) F 1st Minimum Penalty: 3 years DOC


Maximum penalty 30 years prison

Have You Been Arrested For a Drug Offense in Florida?

If you've been arrested for drug charges in Florida you need to speak with an experienced drug crimes attorney as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our Fort Walton Beach office directly at 850.243.6097 to schedule your free consultation.