Domestic Violence Law Book and GavelAfter you’re arrested for domestic violence, you could face several other charges that increase your jail sentence and permanently restrict your ability to live and work where you choose. It’s essential to speak to a Florida domestic violence attorney before you enter any plea.

Charges You Could Face in Addition to Domestic Violence in Florida

Domestic battery is only one type of harm that can potentially be committed against an intimate partner. Additional criminal offenses related to domestic violence in Florida include: 

  • Violation of a protective injunction. Defendants could be charged with violating a protective order if they were already under an injunction for dating violence, repeat violence, sexual violence, or stalking. If convicted, defendants face up to a year in jail and fines of up to $1,000.
  • Stalking. A defendant who is found guilty of stalking or cyberstalking could serve up to a year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines, while aggravated stalking charges can result in a potential jail sentence of up to five years and a fine of up to $5,000.
  • Kidnapping. Defendants who forcibly confine or abduct someone in order to terrorize them, harm them, or commit a felony could face a kidnapping charge. This is a first-degree felony that can result in life imprisonment and a fine of up to $15,000.
  • False imprisonment. Defendants face a jail sentence of up to five years and a fine of $5,000 if they are found guilty of confining, imprisoning, or restraining another person against their will.
  • Witness tampering. Defendants are prohibited by law from attempting to influence any witness from giving anything other than truthful testimony by using threats, intimidation, physical force, misleading conduct, or bribery. A person found guilty of causing a witness to alter or destroy evidence, withhold testimony or evidence, hinder an investigation, evade legal proceedings, or provide false testimony could face up to five years and a fine of up to $15,000.

Contact an Okaloosa County Domestic Violence Attorney

If you or a loved one has been falsely accused of Domestic Violence in Okaloosa County, call Flaherty & Merrifield today at (850) 243-6097 for a free consultation.

Brandy Merrifield
Connect with me
Florida Criminal Defense Attorney
Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment