Okaloosa County Assault And Battery Attorney
Many people do not know or understand the difference between assault and battery. Assault is a threat to do harm, while battery causes physical harm. If you threaten to hit someone you have committed assault. If you actually hit them, a battery has been committed.
My name is Tim Flaherty. Since 2001, I have been defending clients accused of assault or battery in Okaloosa County. If you have been charged with assault or battery, call me at (850) 243-6097 to schedule a free consultation. Protect yourself and let an experienced local criminal lawyer fight to keep a conviction from going on your permanent criminal record.
Overview of Assault and Battery in Okaloosa County
Battery and Assault are both misdemeanor offenses punishable by 60 days-1 year in jail and a $500-$1000.00 fine. A conviction for either charge will also result in a 3 year revocation of your ability to possess or own a firearm, pursuant to the Lautenberg Amendment under Federal law.
Depending on the circumstances, battery and assault charges can also be filed as a felony. Common examples include Aggravated Battery, Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon, and Battery on Law Enforcement.
There are many different variations of assault and battery, but the following lists the most common charges we regularly defend in Okaloosa County:
- Aggravated Assault
- Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Woman
- Aggravated Battery with a Deadly Weapon
- Battery on Law Enforcement
Battery in Okaloosa County
Florida Statute 784.03 defines Battery as: “The offense of battery occurs when a person actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against the will of the other.”
Assault in Okaloosa County
Florida Statue 784.011 defines assault as “an intentional, unlawful threat by word or act to do violence to the person of another, coupled with an apparent ability to do so, and doing some act which creates a well-founded fear in such other person that such violence is imminent.”
Aggravated Assault in Okaloosa County
Florida Statue 784.021 defines aggravated assault as a more serious form of assault, usually using a deadly weapon (gun, knife, vehicle, hammer, etc.). Aggravated Assault is a 3rd degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
Aggravated Battery in Okaloosa County
Aggravated battery is a battery that is committed with a deadly weapon. A weapon is considered deadly if there was intent to use it to cause serious harm. Aggravated Battery is a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in State prison.
Battery on a Law Enforcement Officer in Okaloosa County
According to Florida Statute 784.07, a person is guilty of Battery on Law Enforcement if it is proven that the person hit or touched the victim against their will, the victim was a law enforcement officer, firefighter, EMT, or other protected public safety official, the suspect knew or should have known that the victim was such an official, and when the battery was committed, the victim was working in their official capacity.
Call an Okaloosa County Assault and Battery Attorney
I offer a free consultation to get your questions answered in a low-key, no-stress environment. When you are ready to put a professional Assault and Battery defense attorney to work for you, call me today at (850) 243-6097.