Crestview Child Molestation Defense Lawyer
It is hard to imagine how stressful it must be to be accused of molesting or sexually abusing anyone, let alone a child. Sometimes, even your closest family and friends doubt you, or lose trust in you. Most likely, what you want most of all is for someone to listen to your side of the story, and see you as a person instead of a monster.
These accusations can be difficult to defend. The way Florida law is written, it does not matter if the alleged victim “consented” to the sexual activity. It also does not matter if the alleged victim lied about their age and told you they were old enough to legally have sexual activity. What I have seen time and time again over the years is that if someone has accused you of molesting or touching a child, the Crestview Police Department will arrest you.
If you are being accused of molesting or fondling a child under the age of 16 in Crestview, you will most likely be charged with Lewd or Lascivious Molestation.
There are 3 things to think about if you are facing this accusation:
- When facing a charge this serious, it is important to have the very best defense attorney at your side that you can find. It will be up to you to decide whether to settle for the state-funded public defender, or whether it is worth it to invest in an attorney with extensive experience defending Lewd or Lascivious cases in Crestview. If you aren’t sure what to do, I invite you to call my office at (850) 398-8098 for a free consultation. I will be glad to explain what kind of difference I could make in your case.
- Do NOT talk to the police about this. Whether you have already been arrested or not, if someone is accusing you of child molestation in Crestview, the police are going to want to talk to you. The police are legally allowed to lie to you and manipulate you. Do not fall for this. If they knock on your door, or show up at your job, the best advice I can give you is to politely tell them that you will not talk to them without an attorney present. By the time they show up, they have already decided you are guilty. Don’t make their job easier.
- Do NOT lose hope. A lot of times, when someone is being accused of such a terrible crime, it is easy to lose hope and think there is no point in fighting back. Do not fall into this trap. These cases CAN be won with the right defense strategy.
At this point in the process, you have only been arrested. You have not been convicted of anything. Don’t wait until it is too late to fight back.
Under Florida Law, what is the definition of L & L Molestation?
Lewd or Lascivious Molestation is found in Fla. Stat. 800.04(5):
“intentional touching, in a lewd or lascivious manner, of the genitals, genital area, buttocks, or breasts, or the clothing over those areas, of a person who is younger than 16 years old, or when someone forces or entices a child under the age of 16 to touch the defendant in a lewd or lascivious manner.”
What is the Penalty for Lewd or Lascivious Molestation in Crestview?
The potential penalty varies depending on the age of the alleged victim as well as the age of the defendant. If the alleged victim was over the age of 12 but less than 16, and the defendant was under the age of 18, the maximum penalty is 5 years in prison.
If the alleged victim was between 12 and 16 and the defendant was over the age of 18, the maximum penalty is 15 years in prison.
If the alleged victim was under the age of 12, and the defendant was over the age of 18, the maximum penalty is LIFE in prison, with a 25 year mandatory minimum sentence.
Get Help from a Dedicated Crestview Defense Attorney
I am not afraid of the tough cases. I am ready to take on this fight with you. If you have been charged with Child Fondling or Lewd or Lascivious Molestation in Crestview, call me at (850) 398-8098. Our first meeting is free and confidential.